Blogging is really hard work

I have been seriously struggling with having the time to keep up with my blog. I started the blog with enthusiasm and posted consistently. But then I got involved in my neighborhood by joining the neighborhood council. I also decided to start planning our wedding (finally) which has turned my free time into wedding idea collection. Since I identify as a perfectionist driven procrastinator, I have found myself putting off blogging about the topics which need dedicated time to research, write and edit.

That aside, I am back to cooking more regularly and have a deliciously EASY recipe to share! I made it for dinner tonight and the taste is still lingering in my mouth. I will have to estimate measurements since I was quickly putting this together and driven by hunger. Thus, I recommend adjusting the seasonings to taste. Here is a preview:-)

Image

Harvest Grain Mix with Lentil Sauté
4 servings
Side note: All these ingredients can be found at Trader Joes! The harvest mix makes 4 large servings which is easily done in a medium-large pot. However, because I have a small skillet, I made the sauté in batches, making 2 servings for dinner and 2 more for lunch the next day. If you have a large enough skillet and want 4 servings at once, throw it all in together and double the sauté recipe.

Harvest Grain
1 package of Harvest Grain Mix
3.5 cups vegetable broth or stock
Image
1. Boil vegetable broth, stock or water and add harvest grain mix. Bring back to a boil, reduce heat to simmer, cover and cook for 10 minutes.

Lentil, Mushroom and Kale Sauté
1 TB olive oil
1 large garlic clove
1/2 medium onion
1/2 package of steamed lentils
 1/2 package of cremini mushrooms
1/2 bag of kale
1 TB balsamic vinegar
1 TB lemon juice
Salt and pepper to taste

2. While the grain mix is boiling, mince the garlic, chop the onion, mushrooms and de-stem kale so no thick stems remain.

3. Heat oil in a skillet, add garlic then onion. Cook until fragrant and flavors release. Add mushrooms and allow to sauté couple minutes. Add lentils, balsamic vinegar, lemon juice and continue to cook, stirring well. Finally, add kale and work into remaining ingredients. Use a salt and pepper grinder, seasoning to taste.

4. Once the harvest mix reaches 10 minutes, check for any remaining broth and stir. If broth remains, turn up heat for a couple of minutes to allow grains to absorb remaining water. Remove from heat and keep lid on which will allow it to finish cooking.

ImageServe sauté over harvest mix. Yummy!

Image

Here is a picture of dinner from last night:

Zucchini and mushroom sauté over brown rice pasta topped with nutritional yeast cheeze, side of salad and garlic toast

And dinner from last week:o)

Grilled tofu with balsamic glazed veggies over brown rice, side of salad

Plus some cute animals for good measure!

Resident kitten chilling


Aflac?


And pomegranates with crazy bugs that have robotic movement and fly! Anyone know what thy are, PLEASE let me know!!!

