A sweet tooth is curable

I have had a sweet tooth since I was two years old. That’s when, according to my mother, I ate a whole box of chocolates to myself. My sweet tooth only got stronger after that because I sure do love sweets. In reality, my sweet tooth was a food addiction. It took reading a very interesting article about the 4 most addictive ingredients to understand this. I highly recommend reading this article and how each of the ingredients impact you. As the article describes, giving up any of the addictive ingredients for more than 30 days makes a huge impact on our dependency and cravings for that ingredient. It’s a pretty simple concept but not an easy one to implement.. “easier said than done” if you know what I mean. But seriously people, it works! Just as with any other addiction, if you stop consuming the substance you crave, you will overcome the addiction. Withdrawals are inevitable but a worthy price to pay I suppose.

For the longest time, I thought food addiction was the strangest thing. In primitive days, food was a necessity for survival and we were not picky nor capable of food addiction. Eating more meant storing food for when there would be none. Now we live in a society based on consumerism and fulfilling desires. Not to mention that we are marketed to about these desires whether we have them or not. Food addiction was developed over time, we have learned to eat away our sorrow, anger, pain; we have learned to be social with our food and consume it in abundance without realizing; we have learned to indulge in those decadent dessert after being served an over sized plate of food. These are all learned behaviors people, they are not our instinctual, natural needs. Alas, we have learned these behaviors and they can be unlearned.

My experience in overcoming my sweet tooth came from being more and more cautious of what I was eating. Adopting a vegan diet requires careful attention to things some may not think twice about. In addition, I decided I would do everything in my power to not buy foods which #1. list “Natural ingredients” on the label and #2. have ingredients I have never heard of. (If you want more information which I also found enlightening recently, check out this article about 10 of the worst ingredients. There are also good articles out there about “natural ingredients.”) By imposing these limitations, I reduced my intake of processed foods and sugar. I focused on making meals and food for substance and nutrition. And seeing sweets, seeing people eating sweets, having co-workers bring sweets to functions no longer became a temptation. Just earlier in the year while I was on a “diet,” I would break it just for a co-workers cupcakes. Moist delicious cupcakes. And in the past couple months, I have been able to confidently walk by, look at them and say, no thanks!

Over the Christmas weekend, I decided to go all out again make these specially requested cupcakes, mint oreo cupcakes. And who could resist such a pretty looking dessert?

20121224_161503

So I took my hand at these suckers and feel like I achieved a pretty similar result (minus the green food coloring – refer back to 10 worst ingredients for the why). The cupcake itself was okay but so chocolaty and so sweet, it just did not please my palette. Though I must say frosting is a strange addition to sweets. I can’t understand who thought to put butter and sugar together and eat it on top of a sweet cake. I barely got through one. After reflecting on this sweet indulgence I created, I thought to myself… maybe my sweet tooth is gone! I don’t know for how long but I hope you’ll try minimizing your sugar intake too!

