Cauliflower makes great hot wings

It feels like forever since my last post and many meals later, I have decided to report on my new favorite appetizer. I am seriously going to make this for every party/special occasion that comes up this year! Only when people are so sick of my hot “wings” that they ask me to stop making them. Yea right! I’ll still make them 🙂

The beauty of this recipe is its simplicity, and versatility. Let’s see if you have the simple ingredients to make this recipe. Do you have hot sauce, flour and salt on hand? How about access to a head of cauliflower? Not in season? Grab some tofu, tempeh, seitan for a more dense wing, or any veggie of choice if those are not your thing. If you can bread it, you can make hot wings out of it! But trust me, try the cauliflower. Even if you’re not a fan and have not had it any way you like, try it this way. It turned me to like it.

Now to assemble. Add equal parts water and flour (any kind really) and a dash of hot sauce. Bread your hot wing to be of choice by putting it into the bowl and coating completely. Bake it for 15 minutes at 400, take it out and lather up some hot sauce on it (add olive oil for deeper creamier flavor or to reduce the heat) and bake 5 more minutes. If you’ve followed these instructions, you probably have a delicious party in your mouth. Here’s what the two steps look like:

20130120_183053 20130120_190435
For precise measurements, other ideas and pictures, the creator whom we can thank for my newest revelation:
Vegan Buffalo Wings

Some of the other meals that have come together in my kitchen lately are:
peanut butter chocolate chip oatmeal

20130121_101017

fennel rice with golden raisins, swiss chard and wild mushroom field roast

20130118_205056

black eyed pea chili with guac
20130122_202906

I know it’s a day late (or two because the publishing website is ahead by 10 hours but I’m technically posting this at 11:30pm on the 22nd), I thought this was  a nice quote to keep things in perspective.
20130122_094252

